On My New Blog and Blogging

Hello WordPress people and anyone -actually- who happens to be here. This will be my first real attempt at creating a blog that is at all worth while.  I hope to become a better writer through doing this and hopefully share really funny and interesting video and webpage links as well.  Along with the interesting yet random uploads, I will also aim to share information about nutrition, life, and philosophy… There will be on occasion direct thought uploads right out of my world and into the WP digital realm for you to gawk at with either terror, humor or deep reflection. Hopefully, there will be concepts presented here that some of you can extract and apply to your own lives.

A friend once called me “granola” (PLEASE LOOK UP DEFINITION) to describe and classify who I am -as I am a person who is concerned with not falling victim to the treachery of big business food like products- but she quickly corrected herself with, “Well…you’re kinda granola…”  I didn’t have an understanding of the term at the time but then when she described it for me I was somewhat offended. However, after I thought about it, I realized I do indeed have granola like tendencies in regards to food.  I am however -I would like to think- not a pansy or pussy, which exonerates me from the full extremes of that caste of people. After I thought about it a little more though, I believe that the “granola” approach to food is actually quite smart and beneficial to just about anyone in this modern age, however stupid it sounds to be called a “granola…”

This is beginning to look like a health food blog post and yet I’ll try my best to keep it from becoming that completely.  As this is “my” blog, I feel it is my duty to share with you whatever “I” feel is of worth. You will, in reading my posts get a good idea of what I attach true value to.  That is really the only way to effectively understand someone, how they are will bleed through in their actions and those actions stem from their thoughts.  It would happen that a conversation took place between me and an acquaintance of mine on the subject of health food and it fits what I would consider “worthwhile.”  The acquaintance will remain nameless but I assure you she is a real person and has a fairly reliable perspective on the issue of overall good health.  She worked in the surgical field of medicine for many years and is now semi-retired making “healthy eating” and hence “healthy living” a high priority in her personal life.

The conversation started with me asking her the simple question, “Do you ever drink ‘green’ smoothies?”  By the look on her face it was apparent that she did not.  Quickly though she became enchanted with the idea of the health benefits of such a concept, as -for someone with her grasp on overall health- it is easy to draw conclusions about all the benefits rendered to the human body from such a food item.  As I began to describe to her what I have been consuming everyday ((Kale, Spinach, Celery, Bosch Pears, Cucumbers, Trader Joe’s Green Powder, Trader Joe’s Vanilla Hemp Protein, Ginger, Peanut or Almond Butter, and finally Bananas)(Shout out to Joe Rogan!))  we began to talk about other easy and applicable health practices.

We were into this conversation a few minutes when she then passed on the “real” information.  The way that something is said can make or break how it can ever be received and often times it takes good analogy to really do an alien concept justice in the mind of the receiver.  But I digress, my friend said to me really simply, “The human body is the most advanced vehicle for moving around on Earth and hence most advanced machine.” Indeed it is, when you need a vehicle to maneuver and navigate this 3d plane we collectively call Earth, we would agree -by default- that the human body is the tool most paramount in shaping our world Earth, and protecting the human consciousness and it’s continuity.  It is totally capable in it’s objective. She went further to say that, “If you owned a Ferrari, you would not put the wrong type of fuel in the Italian wonders’ fuel tank! You would put the highest grade gasoline in the car and make sure all the other fluids and lubricants were filled with precision.”  She then said, “Most people would do this for the expensive and impressive Italian sports car, but many would not do the same for their own human body, which you only get one of.”  An old friend of mine once told me that, “Food is like the gas you put in your car and water the oil.”  I can’t say why I had forgotten that adage but it was resurrected through this new conversation.  My old friend by the way lived 83 long years but more importantly he lived 81 fully capable years, even paying the gym 4 visits a week that late in life. Though I would like to think life is never late…

After hearing -in those terms- the approach most people take towards the maintenance of their own physical bodies, I decided I was going to make a few changes with how I approach this task.  I drew the conclusion that indeed healthy living is a task, a chore, something to be mindful of constantly. The act of doing this renders the mind peace in the future, for, as much as I like to live everyday as though it might be my last, there is the terror that life goes on for long, cold, decrepit stretches.  The exchange of healthy eating for the sake of being alive in old age is a hard exchange to negotiate, but it is not one to be avoided. One must be ready and prepared for a certain type of hell in the future and meet it on two feet, capable in both mind and body for battle against whatever unfathomable treachery old age brings.

Good day Word Press.

Song of the day -or moment really- : Safri Duo – Apollo

Shout out and big thanks to my good friend Richard Styrsky for encouraging this Blog.  Thanks bro!

By strangerinthestrangestland

One comment on “On My New Blog and Blogging

Leave a Reply

